More Thoughts on Cosmetics

Over the past couple of days, I’ve had some more thoughts about makeup for ladies and why it isn’t such a modest thing.

  1. Approachability – Whenever I wore makeup, I was afraid to hug my husband for fear of smearing tan and pink stuff all over his shirt. Cosmetics hold us back from loving our neighbors.
  2. Maintenance – I would have to fix the makeup several times a day because of said smearing. More time taken away from loving our neighbors.
  3. Spotlight on You – I was a ballerina in my youth and my mom would have to put on stage makeup (Think Tammy Faye Baker!) on a nine year old girl for the performances. The stuff had to be thick and bright so the stage lights wouldn’t blanch your skin. The point of being a painted lady is to have people notice you for the outward pastiche, not as you really are. Makeup lies to our neighbors.

Any other thoughts along this line about cosmetics? I’ll move onto jewelry and Why I Think Christa Taylor is not (Totally) Modest.

[Note: I know this series of posts seems like polarizing polemics, but folks like to know where I stand on subjects that relate to my shtick of modesty and head covering. I put forth what I’ve found to tote with my journey and hope you’ll continue to read! Am I coming across like an overly strait-laced know-it-all?]

4 Responses to “More Thoughts on Cosmetics”


  1. 1 Judy July 5, 2007 at 7:49 am

    Good thoughts. 1 and 2, to me, point to the thought that “I have to put my makeup on every day” makes it into somewhat of an idol. The golden calf named Maybelline.

    Judy at Tabletop Homestead

  2. 2 Emily July 5, 2007 at 9:03 am

    I think you’ve handled your posts on your beliefs adequately – you explain why you think they apply to YOU, not stridently wag your finger and order everyone to toss their cosmetics and hide that hair.

    For the vast majority of my life, makeup has been the exception rather than the rule. Being something of a science geek, I actually read the labels to find out what’s going into (and on) my body before I decide to wear it. I would encourage everyone to read “Don’t Go to the Cosmetics Counter Without Me” – it breaks down the ingredients and what they do to your skin.

  3. 3 Cara Michele July 5, 2007 at 9:45 am

    I don’t wear makeup often, but when I do, it’s Bare Minerals. It evens out skin tone, but doesn’t make you look “made up.” (And #1-3 aren’t a problem.)

    And no, you’re not “coming across like an overly strait-laced know-it-all.” You’re sharing your perspective and giving others space to share theirs. I’ve enjoyed reading your posts. Continue on… 🙂

  4. 4 cbrunette July 5, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    Thanks for your input, ladies! Its good to hear that from non-head covering women. I’ll carry on as I have been (room for improvement, of course!)

    ~Anna


Leave a Reply

July 2007
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,570 hits

