My Diet Soup

I’ve been without chocolate for nearly 72 hours now…and I’m feeling remarkably well. 😉 Jeff announced after our final meal out for the Birthday-Weekend on last Sunday night that we are were going on a diet! He said he needed to lose some of his, ahem, love handles. He said it, I didn’t. One of my goals for the 1001 days challenge is to get rid of some extra body fat I’ve accumulated. That is hard to do if you sit at a computer for 8 + hours a day!

The secret, I’ve found, is to cut out the junk and watch portions. I also don’t like to ponder and plan too much what I have to eat all the time. My solution for work lunches this week has been a “health soup.” Low-fat and fills me up!

Lentil “Diet Soup” Stew

2 cups regular lentils, picked over and rinsed.  Two or three carrots, chopped. 2 stalks celery, chopped. Half onion, diced. Two Potatoes, chopped up in bite-sizes.Two good-sized cloves garlic. 1 can crushed tomatoes or tomato sauce (15 oz). Olive oil. Balsamic Vinegar. Salt and Pepper.

Cover lentils in a few inches of water and simmer for about 45 minutes, stirring, skimming and adding water as necessary. Add veggies, garlic, and 0nion. Simmer for another 20-30 minutes. Add 4 tablespoons of Olive Oil, a good few dashes of Balsamic Vinegar, S&P, and tomatoes. Stir and simmer for 15 minutes. Serve with crackers or fresh bread.

Lentils are easier to digest than beans and cook faster, too. This cook time is longer to increase the thickness of the stew. The “earthiness” of the lentils may take a while to get used to. You can spice this up with Tabasco.

1 Response to “My Diet Soup”


  1. 1 alienbea July 1, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    I enjoy lentils. 🙂 Thanks for the recipe. Different colors of lentils have slightly different flavors so it’s worth trying them all to see which one you like best.


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,045 hits

