The Veils I Have Worn: Kerchiefs

The last veils I have to show you from my collection are my kerchiefs. The first one I ordered from She Maketh Herself Coverings a couple of years ago. This is the “Bush Veiling” or Dutch Cap which is a popular style for them to sell. It is made out of ivory eyelet fabric with a small lace trim.

You can’t see much from the front.

From the Back. The kerchief doesn’t come with snaps or anything to hold it underneath my hair. I’ve just been using a small safety pin. My hair is in a ponytail again and two clippies hold the kerchief on my head at the sides. [I will take more photos later to show what the kerchiefs look like laying out flat.]

The following kerchief I traced from the Dutch Cap but made a little longer in the back. I used some leftover soft poly cotton fabric from my stash. I sewed a rolled edge all the way around instead of using lace. This gives a slight ripple effect to the edge of the fabric.

I wear the kerchiefs most often these days because of the heat. Plus, they tend to be less “shocking” to the sensibilities of others. The Cap makes folks drop their coffee or stare in traffic and miss their turn. I’m serious! If I would be lead to adopt the Plain life-path, this wouldn’t deter me but for now, I’d rather just be more low-key.

9 Responses to “The Veils I Have Worn: Kerchiefs”


  1. 1 Dawn June 27, 2007 at 3:13 pm

    Those kerchiefs are great! Did you just have white or did you wear other colors like black, tan, navy or cream?

    I know what you mean about people dropping everything to stare at you. I laugh at it because it’s like we have horns and a pitchfork or something! People are crazy!
    I get stared at all the time. I mean, how many Army wives look like I do? And are in Germany? So….but I don’t care. I say let them stare till their eyes fall out..LOL. But it would be easier if they just came up and asked about our covering instead of gawking. 🙂

    Earlier this week at the bank the teller asked me what uniform I had on…LOL. I told her it wasn’t a uniform but the way I dress. I was wearing a navy blue cape dress and navy blue headcovering. 🙂

  2. 2 cbrunette June 27, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    Right now I have just ivory and white but I have some brown fabric in my collection that might work as a kerchief, too. I’ll sew a brown cap as well.

    “What uniform I had on…” Tee Hee! My Lizzie Bennet Wit might have gotten the better of me with a question like that one posed. “I’m in the Lord’s Army!”

    ~Anna

  3. 3 Susan June 27, 2007 at 10:14 am

    I really like the kerchiefs, but my current favorite is a triangle cover that I made up the other day. I’ve been making them to match the skirts and dresses I make. I always have a bit of left over fabric and It’s fun to have matching covers.

  4. 4 Harmony June 29, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Anna,

    Thank you for your visit to our family blog. 🙂 This head covering conviction of mine has been many years in the making. I keep becoming more and more convinced that I need to obey… just that I’m not entirely sure what it is I should obey. lol

    I don’t think I’m quite where you are (wearing one all the time) yet — but I continue to study the subject and God-willing will come to a better understanding the more I read.

    I am enjoying your blog — looking forward to reading more that you’ve written!

    Btw… do you make your kerchiefs? What pattern do you use? Or do you buy them? Where from?

    Thanks,
    Harmony

  5. 5 Regina July 6, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    I like thew kercheif style best because from behind it looks like a hanging veil and that is what I wear. Yours is very pretty.

  6. 6 fionajean December 18, 2007 at 1:36 pm

    1 Peter 3:3-4 tells us your beauty should not come from outward adorment

    1 Peter 2:18-19which great worth in God’s sight

    God has given us a “gift” to have long hair to wear prayer veils(angels)

    We should not dressed like men That there is a place in God’s heart girls -laidies

    We should up hold that, for God keep him close to us at all times.We have a place each of us in heaven as we accept Jesus Christ as our saviour

    May the Lord lead your path,God Bless

  7. 7 Josh December 5, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    very interesting, glad i ran into your posting. קידום אתרים

  8. 8 phoneaddikt August 7, 2011 at 5:28 pm

    I like your kerchiefs, Ms. Anna! I started covering part-time before I turned 13, and I love it. I only own some scarfs but I love the kerchiefs in your pictures. I think I might try and get some.

    PS I would cover full time but I’m a dancer and I can’t exactly cover while performing. ( my hair is in a modest ponytail, though. ) So that is really the only time I’m not covered in public, is when I’m dancing. 🙂 ( unless we get in an 100F heat index, then I occasionally resort to a ponytail. )


  1. 1 Going Full-time with Head Covering! « Veiled Glory Trackback on August 22, 2007 at 7:07 am

Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,738 hits

