The Veils I Have Worn: Scarves!

Color, color, color! I love color! Next in the line up for my photo journal tour are headscarves. I purchased them from Tznius.com about four years ago when I was first considering headcovering. The company sells Jewish modest clothing, including some awesome fashionable (and practical) skirts! I am warning you to hide your plastic before visiting their site or else you’ll click-click and buy oodles of lovely stuff. πŸ™‚

This is a plain cotton square scarf tied in the Classic style. I like this tie the best. The color is actually a dark lilac but comes across blue on some screens (sorry!) The fabric is satiny smooth and light as a feather.

This is how it looks from the back. My hair is in a ponytail, hanging free underneath the scarf.

I also like to tuck up the length in the back under the main knot. I own another cotton scarf in dark brown.

This rectangular scarf is Jeff’s favorite. It is rayon with small fringes at each end. I tied it in the Crown style.

And from the back. You can see that my hair fits into a pocket. It takes a little fussing to get it to stay.

A little tip if you purchase a scarf from Tznius.com:

Handwash each scarf separately several times. The dyes released heavily from my scarves but was no fading in the fabric. Perhaps they’ve fixed this issue since then. Just in case… πŸ™‚

4 Responses to “The Veils I Have Worn: Scarves!”


  1. 1 Dawn June 26, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    That lilac scarf is pretty. I too, have long scarves. All of which I found here in Germany for dirt cheap (this place is full of Muslim women so have scarves of every kind and color in many of the stores). I am still not sure how to tie them correctly and I know Tzuni’s shows you how but I can’t get it. I usually only wear those around the house in the evening while I pray so I don’t have to fuss with my other coverings. Maybe I will practice a little more. Who knows, I may come up with my own style of tieing them…alrighty…where’s the hair spray…bobby pins…and velcro?????? LOL. πŸ™‚

  2. 2 Kim June 26, 2007 at 3:27 pm

    Ooooh, those are so gorgeous!! πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Hiba January 9, 2010 at 12:57 pm

    Hello Anna,,
    I am a Muslim girl from Jordan, who covers….
    I came across ur page by accident, and i was surprised coz I didn’t know that women from other religions cover!!
    In our religion, all women r supposed to cover their body by God’s order. Because covering ur body would make people-men- not judge you by ur physical appearance or you beauty, but by ur character πŸ™‚

    I really like ur page.. and wish u all the luck sister
    peace

  4. 4 Sara June 2, 2010 at 1:22 pm

    I happened to come across you while surfing on the web. You may very well be interested in our line of Head Scarves. There is alot of variety. Please come visit http://www.modestworld.com
    Sara πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,233 hits

