The Veils I Have Worn: Handmade Scarf

Inspired from the Tznius.com scarves, I made a couple scarves of my own. I prefer 100% cotton voile, which can be difficult to find in fabric stores. Farmhouse Fabrics carries a selection of voiles and bastiste for heirloom sewing that might work for scarves.

To make my scarves, I cut a 45 inch (or however wide the fabric is) square. To get a perfect cut from the store, I ask for 1 1/4 yards. Then I cut it in half across the diagonal to make two triangles. Hem the raw edges (a narrow rolled edge works) and you have a light-weight scarf!

Sometimes I forget I’m wearing this one because it is so light! Perfect for these hot, muggy summers. I have some more fabric waiting to be cut up and hemmed. Stay tunned for more scarf fun. Cara Michele asked for tying directions. Sounds like a great project for this weekend!

4 Responses to “The Veils I Have Worn: Handmade Scarf”


  1. 1 Kim June 26, 2007 at 3:28 pm

    Hmm, I can’t see any of the images! 😦

  2. 2 cbrunette June 26, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    Uh-oh….its working fine from here…anyone else can’t see them?

    ~Anna

  3. 3 Deanna June 26, 2007 at 3:55 pm

    I was saddened about your visit to the MB church. I’m sorry — I about fell over when I read your notes. A flag, right up front, heh? Goodness.

    I love the scarves you’ve shared. The Tznius site is amazing, isn’t it? I love their skirts. I could very easily spend money I don’t need to over there!

    Thank you for taking us on a walk down the headcovering lane from your view!
    Deanna

  4. 4 Judy June 27, 2007 at 4:20 am

    Oh my, my, my, my! This is the fabric website I’ve been dreaming of. Thank you so much. Enjoying your blog.

    Judy at Tabletop Homestead (Foster, OK)


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,517 hits

