The Veils I Have Worn: Introduction

A few ladies have expressed an interest in what types of coverings I wear and my journey thus far into this strange territory of Modesty. Over the next week I will be posting a photo journal of all my coverings, why I like them (or not), where I purchased them or how I made them, and what I am wearing currently. Jeff will help me with the photography. πŸ™‚

My testimony can be found here, which addresses my faith, modesty, and head covering.Β  To summarize:

  • Β I wear the covering on Sundays and at home when I pray and study Scriptures. I will cover “full-time” but haven’t gotten the green-light from the Father on that yet. I need to investigate the implications at my workplace and such, too.
  • I started covering two weeks after my marriage almost a year ago. Our church tradition has no standards other than, “wear clothing.”
  • Jeff is completely supportive of my choice. He gives me his opinion but also lets me experiment as to what I feel comfortable wearing. I try to find a balance between what he likes and what I like.
  • My hair is past shoulder length and I just got a cut yesterday for the first time in 6 months(!) More on that issue latter, but obviously I do not hold to the “no-haircut ever” approach to women’s hair. It is still long enough for me to pull it back into a pony tail and be covered.

Why Exactly Do I Wear the Head Covering?

  • Obedience:Β  Through the proof of Scripture, tradition, and heart-conviction, I cover to obey my Father in heaven.
  • It pleases my husband. He didn’t come up with the idea but he loves it anyway.
  • Modesty: In combination with feminine clothing, I think the head covering is an integral part of being modest. Our hair is a powerful part of our beauty!
  • Identity: I am a follower of Jesus who wants to be out of the closet, fully clothed and ready to give an answer for my faith.

I hope this answers some of your questions and if you have any others, feel free to comment. Now, onto the photos!

5 Responses to “The Veils I Have Worn: Introduction”


  1. 1 Dawn June 23, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    Great explanation!!!
    My husband can care less if I cover. In fact no matter how many time I tell him why I cover, he’s always like “ummm..what?” Grr….if he would have listened the first 10 times…LOL…. I love him though. πŸ™‚ But he likes it when we are out and about and I am covered. He does ask though that when we are home that I wear my hair long, most of the time I forget and he doesn’t remind me, so…it just stays up.
    I like having my covering on all day though as I am always praying for someone thru out the day. There are so many on prayer list and it keeps getting longer. But I don’t mind.

    I am “one of those” LOL…who don’t cut her hair. πŸ™‚ Just a personal conviction. I don’t really put much thought into my hair as it’s always up and covered anyway. πŸ™‚

    I do agree with you that our hair is a powerful part of our beauty…oh yes it is!!! That’s why it needs to be covered..for only our men to relish in.. πŸ™‚

    And as I was thinking about it over the past few days or weeks…if we cover our bodies for modesty, then covering our hair should go right along with it, like you said. Of course it all makes more sense to me than others.

    Looking forward to seeing your various coverings!!!!
    Bless you!

  2. 2 Kim June 24, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    Awesome! I can’t wait!! πŸ™‚

  3. 3 Kelli June 25, 2007 at 1:01 am

    Can’t wait to see your coverings. I’m waiting for pay day and then I’m ordering some from Garlands of Grace. I’m curious about wearing coverings in the summer when its hot. I live in CA where it can get pretty hot in the late summer sometimes as much as 105, most of the time I’m indoors but for outings and church, I’d be out in the sun. We don’t have church outdoors but going to and from. It’s interesting you said something about wearing your coverings to work. Does your employer have a dress code that would prevent you covering? I live in CA where its very culturally diverse and seeing muslim women with head coverings is quite common. Where I work there is a woman who wears a type of head covering, but it looks different from the common muslim covering. In fact I’ll have to ask her about it and see what she says. She’s covered her head since the day she’s been hired and I’ve never seen her without it. I don’t think my employer would have any problem with it. If I get the coverings from Garlands of Grace, they wont cover all my hair just part of it. My husband loves long hair and with these types of coverings I can wear my hair in a bun (when its hot) and long in the winter. My reason for wanting to start to cover is to remind myself that I’m supposed to be set apart for my faith and my behavior and attitude needs to represent Christ. I wouldn’t cover all my hair because my husband likes to see it. Can’t wait to see your coverings.

  4. 4 Kelli June 25, 2007 at 1:13 am

    Forgot to ask this question: do you wear makeup or jewelry? I wear a little jewelry (wedding ring & earrings) and I do wear a little make up: foundation, powder, little blush and some light pink lipstick. I tried going without make up but I am so pale I look sick. I have a skin disorder and the makeup helps to cover it up. I was just wondering if you ladies who cover wear make up? I have gone without makeup and because of my skin disorder I’ve had people ask “what’s wrong with your face” so I feel better with a little bit of makeup.

  5. 5 mary April 11, 2008 at 8:58 pm

    I see nothing wrong with a little makeup or some earrings when covering. I too have skin issues and at the minimum need to wear foundation. I do find that my choice in maekup and earrings tends to be much simpler now-pearl posts as opposed to the big dangly neon hoops! Neutral eyeshadow and not bright blue anymore. During lent and fasting periods foundation, chapstick and pearl posts.


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,045 hits

