Look at What the Cat Drug In!

Rain! Rain! Rain! We’ve been deluged in Oklahoma this spring and the Almighty doesn’t think we’ve had enough just yet. I know folks in the southeast and the west are drought-stricken because the low fronts stall out right on top of yours truly. You can take some of it, please!

This morning, as I was preparing for work, the heavens opened again, dumping water at the rate of about 2 inches an hour or faster. Just straight, hard rain. No umbrellas in the apartment. Acck! I did have one long rain coat which I draped over my backpack and backside. Dry shoes in the backpack. I ran for the car but did not escape getting drenched down the front of my blouse and skirt! Egad…what to do?

I hid out in my office for an hour, shivering against the air-conditioned environs. I thought about the pioneer women who had fires or no fires to dry out their skirts. (Mine today is linen, thank God, it drys quickly.) Fortitude, character….

My boss comes in and I tell her about my near-drowning. “Why don’t you use your space heater?” Forehead slap! I have a small heater for my feet to combat over-A/C. Haven’t used it in a long time. Cranked up that baby and I was dry in a few minutes. So much for building character…I’ll take electric “Fire” any day. 

1 Response to “Look at What the Cat Drug In!”


  1. 1 Kim June 21, 2007 at 10:35 pm

    Wow! Well, He’s got a reason why y’all are getting dumped on! 😀 We had some storms last night, but nothing as bad as you’re talking about.

    Glad you got nice and dry, thought. 😀


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,517 hits

