Heart of Purity

This song just melted me to a puddle! “Faith is more essential than fashion, wouldn’t you agree?”

I hope this helps my Christian sisters understand the Muslim stance on the veil and modesty.

5 Responses to “Heart of Purity”


  1. 1 Kim June 21, 2007 at 10:41 pm

    That was simply gorgeous…wow.

  2. 2 mamajuliana June 22, 2007 at 8:25 pm

    I agree, the video is beautiful-but I am bothered by the idea that it says at the end…our freedom..or choice.

    Is is a choice in Muslim Funadmentalist countries for women to totally veil or does their law enforce it?

    As a Christian woman who chooses to cover I wonder..

  3. 3 alienbea June 26, 2007 at 12:05 am

    Hello, MamaJuliana;

    Outside of Iran and Saudi Arabia, I know of no Muslim countries which legislate the veil. Even in those countries, women who do not want to wear the veil find ways to subvert the law, and not all areas are equally enforced (in Saudi Arabia, for example, Riyadh is very liberal about the veil while Abha, near Yemen, is very conservative).

    On the other hand, there is a growing trend in Muslim countries to actually ban the hijab, such as Turkey, Algeria, and Tunisia. You cannot hold a government job, either hired or elected, and you cannot attend school. Until very recently, this was also the case in Egypt.

    Do not forget about France, where you cannot receive an education if you wear a headscarf, and women cannot specifically request a female doctor instead of a male.

    The problem of women who are not allowed to veil is a far larger problem than women who are forced to veil against their will. This is an issue which is understood by most Muslims and by the creators of the YouTube video. It is not as well understood by people who are not Muslim; we’ve been hearing endlessly these past weeks about the Iranian crackdown on overly-Western wear but how many major news outlets have reported on the shocking police brutality currently occurring in Tunisia against women in hijab?

    I am an American Muslim woman who wears a headscarf, in interests of full disclosure. I oppose forcing women to wear the hijab as much as I oppose forcing women to take it off.

    It is our freedom and it is our choice. I believe you do Muslim women everywhere a disfavor by focusing only on the isolated countries where the veil is legally enforced. It isn’t the case for the vast majority of Muslim women in the world, and it is important to note that most Muslims, including women (even some who do not cover), believe that it is a requirement in Islam. In addition, Muslim men are not exempt from modesty, even if they do not have to cover their heads — Muslims, both male and female, are supposed to be modest in both dress and behavior. These facts are often lost in the hysteria which swirls around the hijab.

  4. 4 Mak June 26, 2007 at 10:59 pm

    I think that *is* beautiful – – as long as it remains an issue of “freedom” in Christianity and in Islam then all is well with me.

  5. 5 Gemaecca August 9, 2007 at 8:04 am

    I saw this video a few months ago. A Muslimah friend emailed it to me. The music is so beautiful and moving, it brings tears to my eyes. I may not be a religious woman, but my heart’s not made o’ stone!


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,616 hits

