Pegged

upright-pink-bloom.jpgMy normal work days are spent in relative isolation from the “public” of the library. I see many students as I walk through the library but don’t help them too often. My co-workers say little to me on the subject of my clothing choices, unless it is a passing compliment on a new dress or shoes. I am taking a Microeconomics class this summer that meets twice a week at night. Now I’m really in the blender, in terms of my appearance.

Last week it was the “weird” guy from California who sat next to me who made a comment. I was wearing my new turquiose blouse and peasant skirt that night. “Wow, a girl wearing a dress (skirt)!! I can’t ever remember the last time I saw a girl wearing a dress! Maybe things are different out here in Oklahoma, but in California, they just don’t wear dresses any more.” I didn’t know whether to thank him or snap back some half-joking reply.

This past evening, I wore a denim skirt, purple polo top, and tan striped knee-highs with brown loafers. Yeah, it wasn’t the prettiest outfit, but it was clean that morning! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Another male student, with whom I have worked on in-class assignments decided to barrage me with questions throughout the class. “Do you wear nail polish? Do you have a tattoo? Where are you from? Do they dress like that there? What kind of car do you drive? Have you ever done anything fun?” I knew he was asking in a playful manner, so I went along. He finally stopped and exclaimed, “I’ve got you pegged!”

So, is this what people do in their minds when they see me on campus? I know it is a human thing to do, to find categories we’ve created into which to fit our experiences. I’ve never been on the verbal end of it before! The student then apologized, saying, “I’m just trying to figure out how someone so young could dress like you do.” I’ll have to ask him what he thinks I am at the next lecture.

12 Responses to “Pegged”


  1. 1 Kim June 19, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    That will be interesting! I’m not sure what to expect this fall — hopefully “nice” comments versus “not so nice”. Although I think the most questions will be coming up in Wintertime!

  2. 2 Dawn June 19, 2007 at 3:47 pm

    Let the questions begin! Wooohooooooooooo! LOL.

    All the time I get the usual questions..some more than others:

    Are you a nun?
    Are you Amish?
    Are you Mennonite?
    Are you Pentecostal?
    Are you Mormon?
    Are you a nurse?
    Are you doing charity work in this area?
    Are you visiting someone in the hospital here?

    So far, that’s what I have been asked. Waiting for something new and unheard of but probably won’t get it…LOL. Well, I haven’t been asked if I am in a cult yet…LOL.

    Blessings!

  3. 3 Kelli June 19, 2007 at 8:28 pm

    Despite the comments I’m sure most people have a respect for you by dressing lady like. I dress only in skirt/tops and so far haven’t had any comments. I do wear a little make up and very simple jewelry (wedding ring & earrings) and haven’t gotten to the head covering stage just yet. It will be very interesting when I do start the head covering what comments there will be. I’m from CA and the guy was right, not many wear dresses anymore unless you are conservative Christian or in the work place. My work place however, some of the females come in looking like they just rolled out of bed in sweatpants or track suits. I think people are just amazed that a young lady dresses like a lady! When I start head covering I’m more concerned about what comments I may get from my church family. We go to a very casual, dress in jeans type of church and I would be the only one who would cover. I do think to start off I will try some covers from Garlands of Grace. Keep up the good work of looking lady like even though your contemporaries don’t.

  4. 4 cara michele June 20, 2007 at 1:12 am

    I think it’s kind of cool that your modest appearance prompts those kinds of questions. It gives you an opportunity to talk about your faith. Good for you! You’re beautiful, inside and out. Keep showing the world… ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. 5 Carri June 20, 2007 at 3:32 am

    The questions only lend themselves an open door to share Christ with the world. Let them questions roll!

  6. 6 Dawn June 20, 2007 at 4:40 am

    Kelli,
    I know of some women who get opposition from their church family about covering, even from their Pastor but it’s mostly from other Christian women. It’s amazing how offensive women get when a covered woman walks thru the church doors. But it’s not up to the church or the Pastor to decide if it’s okay for a woman to cover. If God leads His daughter to cover, then by golly she should do it, regardless if her church likes it or not. They eventually will get over it. It would be disobediance not to obey Him just because out of fear of what someone will say.
    Remember what Psalm 118:6 says ” The Lord is on my side; I will not fear; what man can do unto me.”
    Let them stare with wide gaping eyes and mouths dropped…LOL.
    Actually you will probably get more positive reactions than anything else.
    A good thing you can always do is get some headcovering tracts to pass out when people ask about it. They are dirt cheap through Rod & Staff and Christian Light Publication. I think one cost $0.12 . That would probably help you out immensely!
    I am the only one who covers in my church. No one has ever said a word to me. My church believes a woman’s long hair is her covering…the problem with that, none of the ladies have long hair! LOL. I think the preacher’s wife is letting hers grow out though.

    I agree Carri…having people come up and ask me those above questions is a great witnessing opportunity. Usually I carry my church’s pamphlet and invite them out to church (some don’t even know that an American church exists here in my town in Germany), but I have been forgetting as of late. I don’t know why I am so scatterbrained lately….

    Blessings ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. 7 Kelli June 20, 2007 at 5:56 am

    Thanks for the info about tracts on head covering, I’ll have to get some. My husband said I can cover if I want to but he doesn’t mind either way. Several years ago I wasn’t living the godly lifestyle I should have been and although my dress was ok, I did have a nose piercing and belly piercing. I personally don’t have a problem with very small diamond stud nose piercings, I think some are really pretty, however since I have a struggle with being worldly then it’s better for me to be as conservative and not have those things. I’m still struggling with the idea of covering, I’m a big chicken and don’t like to draw attention to myself. However, since I’m wearing dresses/skirts only, and if I wear a covering to church, then it will be a reminder to ME that I need to have a pure and modest heart. Hopefully my dress is a witness to others as much as it should be a reminder to me that I’m a child of God and need to be a peculiar person to the world. My venture into conservative dress is more of a reminder to me that I need to be a good witness and not be worldly. Does that make any sense? Question, for those of you that do cover, what kind of covers do you wear?

  8. 8 Dawn June 20, 2007 at 1:12 pm

    I got my coverings from http://www.wendysmodestdress.com and http://www.christiancoverings.com
    They are just regular style veils in black and white…well I got one in navy too.
    EBAY has some up for grabs that are cheap.
    When I 1st began covering all I had were printed bandanas. I was thankfull just to have something on my head at first, but then I was feeling self conscious because bandanas associate really with gang stuff or a fashion thing, not really representing a covering.
    Then I took a trip home to FL to visit my family (I live in Germany at the moment) and was able to go to Michael’s and Hobby Lobby and get the solid colored (black, white, tan, cream, navy, red) bandanas for dirt cheap. To me, that looked more like a covering. I wore those till I got my veils.
    I still wear them from time to time just because sometimes it’s easier to throw one of them on.
    I did have some oval lace coverings that someone gave to me and I wore those a few times but ended up selling them after one day I asked my husband if he liked my new black lace covering. He’s like “yes, it’s pretty but I can see all of your hair…isn’t the point of a covering to cover?” So…off to EBAY those went…LOL.
    Maybe start off by wearing bun coverings first before going to veils or scarves.

    God Bless You on this journey!

  9. 9 Mak June 21, 2007 at 2:38 am

    it’s always good to be provoked about how we appear to those around us

  10. 10 LeanNot June 21, 2007 at 1:18 pm

    I think that the coverings at tznius.com are beautiful. I struggle with the idea of wearing just a bun cover or a doily because that does not cover the head at all.

  11. 11 MInTheGap June 21, 2007 at 8:53 pm

    I like what Carrie said too. That’s the important part. We must use our differences to exalt Christ– to bring glory to Him.


  1. 1 You Church Goer! « Veiled Glory Trackback on July 19, 2007 at 6:55 am

Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,650 hits

