To Succeed in the World

To Succeed in the World I Should:

  • Cut my hair very short, because it would look better for my face shape and to make me look older.
  • Wear “cuter” clothing, with shorter skirts, capris, tight/low-cut blouses.
  • Put on make-up to cover up zits and freckles.
  • Spend even more time at work, always looking for a promotion.
  • Undertake Graduate Studies to gain a larger income in the future.
  • Let my husband take care of himself.
  • Don’t trust my husband to take care of me.
  • Have only 1 or 2 children, when I am “ready” for it.
  • Let other people care for my children, because my brain is better suited for business meetings than nursery songs.
  • Earn even more income so that the children can attend college and repeat the life I have lived.
  • And the list could go on and on….what are some messages you’ve received from the world to succeed in its standards?
7 Responses to “To Succeed in the World”


  1. 1 Kim June 12, 2007 at 7:42 pm

    “No matter what you have, it’s never good enough.”

    “Religion is for uneducated, backwards people who can’t think for themselves.”

    Those are two I’ve received recently. Good post, I like it. 🙂

  2. 2 Dawn June 18, 2007 at 11:52 am

    “You have so much more to offer to the world than to be a keeper at home”.

    “You would be able to save more money if you got a job”.

    “Go to college”.

    I am sure there are more…yours were really really good! I liked them. 🙂

    Aren’t you glad we aren’t part of the world’s thinking? Praise God indeed for that!!!! Thank God He has opened our eyes to His Word and His Ways, not our own!

  3. 3 Mus June 20, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    I love this post and I love you for putting this up!

    Dawn, thanks for the encouragement we occasionally need, running AGAINST the whole world’s ideology and thought!

  4. 4 Mus June 21, 2007 at 2:09 am

    Ah, I got one now. I just remembered:

    “You don’t have a choice”

    Ah, liberation all right.

  5. 5 Kerrin September 11, 2007 at 9:19 am

    Get up early and go to bed early.
    Work hard, don’t piss off your superiors.
    Eat the right food.
    Make sure you exercise.
    Don’t over exert (<-how you spell) yourself.
    Keep your mind active.
    Eat omega 3, vegetables, legumes and fruit.
    Keep positive.
    Give love to the world.
    Write a journal each day to clear your thoughts.
    Do a good deed each day.
    Do something scary / new each day.
    Tell your loved ones how much you care about them often.
    Give a stranger a sincere compliment.
    Make promises to yourself that you can keep.
    Fill yourself with love and fortumne so that you can overflow and share that love and fortune with others.
    Don’t follow advice or listen to sayings just because they sound good.
    If you want to learn, the best person to ask is yourself.

    =)

  6. 6 Dana February 26, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    Yes, the one I have heard the most is, “You don’t have a choice.” I also hear from family that as long as I have bills & debt that I need to be working outside the home, make money for myself in case something ever happened to my husband. Well, we’ll always have some bills to a certain extent. I currently do work, but I know the Lord will help us to be able to adjust to one income hopefully one day soon. I admit it is scary, but I know my husband would love being completely cared for the way he deserves. I cannot do it all right now and I admire yet feel sorry for those who do do it all. Work more, more education, yes, and yes I have been told I look so much better with short hair, but that won’t happen again. My hair is growing, touching my shoulders finally. I had no idea how much the inside of me could change just by making some changes on the outside. Praise the Lord. He’s still working on me!!!


  1. 1 Just Surfing « Abide and Endeavor Trackback on June 14, 2007 at 1:21 pm

Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,045 hits

