A Vision for Veiled Glory

When the idea of Veiled Glory was birthed into my mind late last year, there were a few things I wanted to accomplish. They are the following:

  1. Provide a resource site for ladies considering covering and modest dressing.
  2. Document my process of growing into head covering and early married life.
  3. Encourage ladies to live worthily of their callings within their families, churches, and communities.
  4. Run a “Covering Survey” much like the Modesty Survey undertaken by the Harris brothers earlier this year.

For the first point, I’ve kept up the static front page URL, though haven’t cataloged all my links and made them public yet. This blog, I hope, is starting to satisfy points 2 and 3. Its been a joy to “meet” many of my visitors and learn from them!

The last point is the one where I am stuck. I have very little technical knowledge. My site hosting is a snazzy “business” level, so I am sure there are no limitations on what I can do. Let me describe to you why and what I want to learn from a Covering Survey:

By trade and training, I am a social historian. I just love finding out what makes people tick! I also have a strong innate ability to be an advocate, a voice, for those whom the world may not fully understand or accept. In taking on a project like this, I would like to see how much we have in common, how we’ve come to adopt head covering and some of the struggles we face.

The Modesty Survey was designed for men by young ladies. The Covering Survey will be design by women for women! [Male oversight as necessary.] As this unfurls, I would love it if you would submit questions you would like to see answered. Confidentiality is, of course, my top priority. Hopefully, I can design the survey to accommodate levels of self-revelation.

The survey is not the end but just the beginning. Head covering is a spiritual discipline that, I am sure as many would agree, needs encouraging and advocated. I’m putting myself out there as a spokes-woman, a messenger.

Enough rambling! 🙂 So, here is my request: Some one to volunteer in the technical set-up and maintenance of a survey. I’m sure it doesn’t have to be as fancy as the Modesty Survey, but nice will do. Let me know if you are able to help!

1 Response to “A Vision for Veiled Glory”


  1. 1 Unique Muslimah June 10, 2007 at 11:39 pm

    I really hope you are successful with your project =) Where there is a will there is a way! xx


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 418,517 hits

