My Mother and Lung Cancer

I’d like to share with you all about my mother’s battle with lung cancer. Its not something I broadcast loudly or wear advocacy pins for because most people assume lung cancer equals smoking. 23% of diagnosed cases are not smoking-related. My mother was one of those cases.

Over two and a half years ago, she received this news after nearly a year of bouncing around doctors for pneumonia treatments. She has Bronchio-Avelialor Carcinoma, or BAC. This is normally seen in those with exposure to industrial chemicals. I don’t want to speculate, but I think being a housewife for 36 years might have counted as that! (One reason I use natural cleaners and non-scented everything.)

She has had 3 rounds of chemotherapy and 1 round of radiation. This past winter, she took seriously ill with fluid building up in her chest. The surgeons drained it and found more cancer outside her lung in the chest cavity. They advised hospice care, which is only given to those with 6 months or less to live. My mom is a very stubborn and well-loved lady! She “graduated” from hospice last month and is now able to care for herself and drive short distances.

I am sharing this with you so you can pray for her and for us. We’ve been abundantly blessed through this process from famil, friends, and the church. My mother’s name is Barbara and she is 58 years young. She has a PET scan on June 11 to check on the status of the cancer and see if there are any treatment options open. The doctors, as always in situations like this one, are baffled at how she has lived this long. Yes, my mom is a believer and will go to be with Jesus when the time comes, but we’d like that time to be later than sooner.

3 Responses to “My Mother and Lung Cancer”


  1. 1 Susan June 8, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    Praying here Anna! My mother had breast cancer several years ago and has now been cancer free for about 9 years. It was a scary time for us all, I’ll keep your Mom in my prayers!

  2. 2 Carri June 11, 2007 at 11:23 am

    As a hospice nurse myself, I can tell you that your mother has already made a remarkable come back by “graduating” from hospice. Glory to God, our Divine Healer and Maker. Will continue to pray for your mother, my friend.

  3. 3 Cucidati June 12, 2010 at 11:43 am

    Anna, how is your mother? My mom passed last month from lung cancer. She was a smoker.


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,233 hits

