My First Meme Tag!

Thank you, Elena Maria, for picking me for a meme tag! Here goes:

“For this meme, each player lists 8 facts/habits about themselves. The rules of the game are posted at the beginning before those facts/habits are listed. At the end of the post, the player then tags 8 people and posts their names, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know that they have been tagged and asking them to read your blog.”

1.) I have two younger sisters who were adopted from China in 1999. They were eleven when we adopted them, though they are not related, they were in the same orphanage. Both are graduating from high school this spring! I am immensely proud of their achievements, even over some trying circumstances.

2.) I learned to knit when I was 10 from a grandmotherly lady in our church. Zelma Stangland spent her retirement years knitting layettes for a crisis pregnancy center. I carry on in her memory, donating baby items when I can to mothers in need.

3.) I strongly dislike strawberries. They taste bitter, no matter what kind or shape. Even strawberry-flavored items make me nauseous.

4.) I majored in history and minored in psychology at Hollins University. I graduated last year, with honors. 🙂 In order to graduate, every senior needed to complete a thesis. My professors thought me capable of working on an honor’s thesis which is a year-long, 100 page affair. I chose the topic, “Ohio Women in the Temperance Movement, 1825-1900”

5.) My husband and I waited until our wedding day to kiss. Since we had both come from less than pure backgrounds “before Christ”, this commitment was extremely important for us. It was WORTH every minute of the wait. God has blessed our young marriage greatly, in spite of ourselves.

6.) I worked as a nanny for two years in the Washington, D.C. area, during 9-11-01 and afterward. Even with all that danger and scariness, I would still love to live there again, if I were independently wealthy. 😉

7.) I have lived in 5 states in very different parts of the country. The interesting thing is that I get asked (in Oklahoma and Virginia) where I am from, since my accent is decidedly Northern. Well, once a Midwesterner, always a Midwesterner!

8.) I took 8+ years of Ballet lessons as a child/teen and a year of Irish Step Dancing.

Alright, I will have to chose 8 ladies to tag: Susan, Kristie, Suzanne, Amanda, Ginger, Dr. Alice, Margaret, Carri. Let me know if you choose to join in with the meme.

2 Responses to “My First Meme Tag!”


  1. 1 elena maria vidal June 7, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    Very interesting! We have a lot in common. I have a close friend who graduated from Hollins back in the 80’s.

  2. 2 Dr. Alice June 17, 2007 at 11:09 pm

    Oh, whoops! Thanks for the interesting facts, and sorry I missed your tag. I’ll try to get to it soon. 🙂


Leave a Reply

June 2007
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 416,136 hits

