More Hippie than Amish: A Self-Realization

Cross-posted this to the Conservative Brunette:

I had a small epiphany last weekend. In my heart of hearts, I am an artist. God gave me some natural talent and my life circumstances have nutured them up until about 18 months ago. Then a self-imposed set of limits I call the Amish/Quaker side of me shut down any artistic expression beyond knitting and sewing cape dresses.

[For those of you who live or desire to live the Plain lifestyle, I do not harbor any disdain for you. God Bless You! If you have found freedom in plainness, stay with it.]

Being Plain was not necessarily bad for me; it wasn’t forming the right spiritual disciplines. The fruit of the experiment was bitter. I wasn’t overflowing in love and joy towards my Christian brothers or sisters. I felt unable to serve them through the medium of a bonnet.

So come last Saturday night, the combination of discovering the Psalters and the pent-up artist within had my gut all knotted up. “I want to dance, paint, and do henna!” I exclaimed to Jeff. He was supportive as always, and a little excited at the new changes brewing.

Sunday morning and I had little relief until I got in the shower. [Folks, for some reason, I get the best revelations while standing under hot water. Funny, isn’t it?] The Lord untied the knot by saying, “I want you to use your creativity to serve others!” Yay! Hip-hip Hurray! I had so much more joy and peace at that moment than I’ve had in months.

I assure you I will not jettison other values I’ve formed during this “detour” including dressing modestly and covering my hair. I’ll just use a differing mode, somewhat Midwestern Hippie: patchwork skirts (use up that fabric!), colorful cotton scarves, henna patterns on my hands and feet, and sandals. This style will be much more conducive to the college campus where I work and the urban church I attend.

Alright….there is still much to be sorted out in this fragile human mind and soul but I just wanted you all to be in on the process. We’re going to an art festival today!

1 Response to “More Hippie than Amish: A Self-Realization”


  1. 1 Julie in Virginia August 9, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    Hi Anna!

    I’ve really been enjoying reading your blog. I’ve recently been led to consider a more Plain/modest lifestyle and I’m really glad there are others out there on the blogosphere documenting their experiences to give inspiration to the rest of us. I come from a Methodist-turned-Quaker background, so for the moment, I’m heading more in the direction of Plain dress as opposed to modest, but I have no idea where I’ll end up in the long run.

    I just wanted to leave a comment here under this particular entry to let you know that if you’re still looking for a mix of hippie and plain, we hicksite Quakers will always welcome you. Most of the ones I know are both!


Leave a Reply

May 2007
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 417,238 hits

