Archive for April 16th, 2007

Modest Mondays: Blue Hair and Bonnets

My new friend Tracy has short blue hair, multiple tattoos, peg piercings, and wears goth-styled clothing. Her three children also follow this style. Who would think we’d have anything in common?!? Apparently, we’ve got plenty!

Tracy has been attending our church for about 5 months now along with her Army husband. I’ve been chatty with her off and on. She doesn’t seem to mind my Amish-tendencies one bit. She is from Phoenix, where I had lived for 4 years. She loves her kids, writing stories, natural foods, and Jesus. Thats a good place to start…

On Resurrection Sunday I announced that I would be starting a Ladies’ small group to meet twice a month for Bible study and fellowship. One glitch: I needed a hostess! Well, when I mentioned it, Tracy shot her hand up in the air to volunteer. She seems rather eager to meet new people. So, now you have a conservative Anabaptist/Quakerly sort and a goth lady leading and hosting a Bible study.

Who would have thought? I’m rather excited about the prospect. I wonder if anyone else will show up?

Angels and Demons at Virginia Tech

My heart is very heavy for those who are suffering because of the Virginia Tech shootings. I lived not too far from there and attended Hollins University, in Roanoke, Virginia. I work at a university campus. It all hits close to home. May God have the glory!


April 2007
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Tweet!

  • Its time to say goodbye to my Veiled Glory persona. Stay tuned for The Orthodox Nest. 1 year ago
  • I choose to do #27acts because that might prevent a future gunman. Love overcomes fear, 1 year ago
  • Momma passed from this life into the heavenly realm on November 17th. We buried her the day after T-giving. 1 year ago

Quotes

"I can't say I don't believe in your God, but I don't believe He meant the world to be as it is." ~Nicholas Higgins. North and South.

"I wanted you to see what real courage is, instead of getting the idea that courage is a man with a gun in his hand. It's when you know you are licked before you begin but you begin anyway and you see it through no matter what." No idea where that last quote came from, but I like it!

Current Reads

Father Arseny

Blog Stats

  • 385,656 hits

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers